Raising Rebels:

A Somatic Practice Group for Parents

Raising Rebels is back

Join a group where you can meet other parents who are working on becoming more embodied and building their capacity to handle the stress and magic of parenting. We will learn a variety of somatic practices derived from generative somatics and the resilience toolkit that can support us in caring for ourselves as we care for others. We’ll work on how we navigate  triggers and big emotions while parenting. Sessions will include time for discussion and connection with fellow participants. We’ll look at the ways parenting is impacted by the identities we hold and the oppressions we face, and explore how those of us with sensitive nervous systems and histories of trauma can find balance while parenting. All levels of experience with somatics are welcome.

  • When: While the kids are in school! Five 90 minute sessions on Thursdays, January 25-February 22, 2024. 9am PST/10am MST/11am CST/12pm EST.
  • Where: On Zoom
  • Cost: Sliding scale $200-$400 ($40-$80 per session)
  • How to register: Venmo your tuition to Jacks McNamara and fill out the form below. Payment plans are also available, email redrootshealingarts AT gmail.com if you would like to set up a payment plan.
  • Sign up by January 18 to reserve your spot!

About the Facilitator

Jacks McNamara is a parent, trauma healing coach, facilitator, educator, writer and artist based in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Jacks has been in private practice for 11 years, with a specialty in supporting queer and trans survivors, and in mentoring new queer and trans healing practitioners. They have been peer counseling, facilitating support groups, teaching art and writing classes, and leading workshops around radical mental health since 2004. Jacks is a member of the Generative Somatics Politicized Healers Network and a graduate of the gs Somatics and Trauma practitioner training program. In 2002 Jacks co-founded The Icarus Project, now known as the Fireweed Collective, an international support network and participatory adventure in mutual aid and healing justice. Co-author of Navigating the Space Between Brilliance and Madness, their life and work are the subject of the poetic documentary Crooked Beauty. Jacks also hosts the podcast So Many Wings, a series of conversations at the intersection of social justice and transformative mental health.